How long can negative information appear on my credit report?
Time limits vary depending on the type of information:
- Most negative information (like a collections account, a lawsuit, or a tax lien) can only be reported up to 7 years.
- Bankruptcy information can only be reported for 10 years.
Texas and federal laws limit how long certain information can appear on a credit report.
- The Texas law is Section 20.05 of the Texas Business & Commerce Code. This law lists the information a credit reporting agency may not provide on a credit report.
- The federal law is Title 15, Chapter 41, Subchapter III of the U.S. Code. This law governs credit reporting agencies and limitations on what they can include on a credit report.
For more information, check out the library’s guide on Credit Reports.
Related FAQS & Guides