7749 views | 15 | Last updated on Mar 30, 2022 COVID-19
Federal laws require international travelers flying to the U.S. who are at least 2 years old to show one of the following:
Certain international visitors must show proof of vaccination.
Texas laws do not require any additional steps or precautions, such as quarantine.
Everyone traveling by air to the U.S. who is at least 2 years old must show their airline a negative COVID-19 test result or proof of recent recovery. This rule applies to U.S. citizens, lawful permanent residents, and non-U.S. citizens. According to the CDC:
If you plan to travel internationally, you will need to get a COVID-19 viral test (regardless of vaccination status or citizenship) no more than 1 day before you travel by air into the United States. You must show your negative result to the airline before you board your flight.
If you recently recovered from COVID-19, you may instead travel with documentation of recovery from COVID-19 (i.e., your positive COVID-19 viral test result on a sample taken no more than 90 days before the flight’s departure from a foreign country and a letter from a licensed healthcare provider or a public health official stating that you were cleared to travel).
In addition, certain international travelers must provide proof of COVID-19 vaccination. This does not apply to U.S. citizens, U.S. nationals, lawful permanent residents, and immigrants — see the CDC website for details. Their page on travel requirements explains:
You must be fully vaccinated with the primary series of an accepted COVID-19 vaccine to travel to the United States by plane if you are a non-U.S. citizen, non-U.S. immigrant (not a U.S. citizen, U.S. national, lawful permanent resident, or traveling to the United States on an immigrant visa). Only limited exceptions apply.
Travelers arriving in Texas are not required by law to quarantine or self-isolate. This is true for travelers who arrive in Texas from other U.S. states or from a foreign country. If you have not had a COVID-19 vaccination, the CDC recommends that you quarantine for a full 5 days after you arrive in the U.S. This is a recommendation, not a legal requirement.